View my other blog -


Wednesday, August 7, 2013

The Ramon Magsaysay Awardees 2013

The Board of Trustee of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) announced that this year three individuals and two organizations from Afghanistan, Indonesia, Myanmar, Nepal and the Philippines will receive Asia's premier prize, the Ramon Magsaysay Award. The Awardees are:

Ernesto Domingo, from the Philippines. He is being recognized for "his exemplary embrace of the social mission of medical science and his profession, his steadfast leadership in pursuing 'health for all' as a shared moral responsibility of all sectors, and his groundbreaking and successful advocacy for neonatal hepatitis vaccination, thereby saving millions of lives in the Philippines." 

Komisi Pemberantasan Korupsi (Corruption Eradication Commission), from Indonesia. The organization is being recognized for "its fiercely independent and successful campaign against corruption in Indonesia, combining the uncompromising prosecution of erring powerful officials with farsighted reforms in governance systems and the educative promotion of vigilance, honesty, and active citizenship among all Indonesians."

Lahpai Seng Raw, from Myanmar. She is being recognized for "her quietly inspiring and inclusive leadership- in the midst of deep ethnic divides and prolonged armed conflict- to regenerate and empower damaged communities and to strengthen local NGOs in promoting a non-violent culture of participation and dialogue as the foundation for Myanmar's peaceful future."

Habiba Sarabi, from Afghanistan. She is being recognized for "her bold exercise of leadership to build up a functioning provincial government against great odds- intractable political adversities, a harsh and impoverished environment, and pervasive cultural discrimination- serving her people with a hopeful persistence grounded in her abiding commitment to peace and development in Afghanistan."

Shakti Samuha ("Power Group"), from Nepal. The organization's founders and members are being recognized for "transforming their lives in service to other human trafficking survivors, their passionate dedication towards rooting out a pernicious social evil in Nepal, and the radiant example they have shown the world in reclaiming the human dignity that is the birthright of all abused women and children everywhere."

The five 2013 Magsaysay awardees join the community of 296 other Magsaysay laureates who have received Asia's highest honor to date. This year's Magsaysay Award winners will each receive a certificate, a medallion bearing the likeness of the late President Ramon Magsaysay, and a cash prize. They will be formally conferred the Magsaysay Award during formal Presentation Ceremonies to be held on Saturday, 31 August 2013 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines, to which the public is cordially invited.

For more information, please contact:

Mr. Manuel H. Hizon
RMAF Communications Director
Tel. No.: +63-2-521-3166 to 75 locals 161 or 180
Telefax: +63-2-524-2390


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Blog Archive

Popular Posts

A member of Philippine Bloggers Network

A member of Mommy Blogger Philippines

Mommy Bloggers Philippines
Viva Manilena Blog by Edel Santiago. Powered by Blogger.

Copyright © Viva Manilena | Powered by Blogger
Design by AnarielDesign | Blogger Theme by